F1

Fake Alonso Tweet, genuine Ferrari F-word Tweet

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    raymondu999
    Participant

So apparently Alonso has been involved in his own Twittergate. I didn’t see this myself, but the screenshot looks legit, and some news sites seem to be reporting on the tweet that went out and went missing.

mnmracer
    Participant

Alonso has some emotional issues he should deal with over the winter.
    Less politics, more driving!

As I said in the comments in the round-up I don’t believe this is real – at least, not yet:

Ecclestone: Ferrari “completely wrong” in Vettel row

Bob
    Participant

Looks like a photoshop to me. Reading this on a laptop, I tilted by screen back, and noticed a fuzzy grey pixelated border around the main text of the tweet – most noticeable on the blank space two lines below the word “justicia” . This unusual feature is absent in the genuine tweets I’ve seen, like the ones in the daily round-up. I’m no expert, but having used and seen the results of image editing software before, especially when the images are reproduced in low quality, I would theorize that someone copied and pasted the inflammatory comment onto a Twitter post template with Alonso’s user information.

(Of course, the other possibility is that the tweet is genuine, and the visual artifacts are the result of low image resolution, in which case my hypothesis would be incorrect.)

The above notwithstanding, Alonso should be, and in all likelihood is, intimately familiar with the niceties of F1 politics. I don’t believe he could have been so brash as to post such a thing.

Nick
    Participant

To be honest, I’d be surprised the only people who managed to make a screengrab are those who are only able to save it in such a low resolution. Isn’t there a way to check the hashtag he’s used or something?

Journeyer
    Participant